Fort Myers Traffic Lawyer
Hiring a traffic ticket attorney can help you to build your defense. According to the Florida DMV, nearly 5 million traffic citations are issued each year. In 2019, state law enforcement agencies wrote over 706,000 speeding tickets.
Traffic attorneys defend their clients against all traffic offenses, including the following:
- Suspended license
- Red light camera violations
- Illegal u-turn
- Illegal lane change
- Reckless driving
- Traffic accidents
- Drug possession
- Racing on the highway
- Driving with a suspended license and more
Speeding is the most common traffic citation but not the only one. If you’ve incurred a traffic citation, traffic law professionals suggest working with an experienced traffic law attorney. Speak with the Fort Myers, FL traffic ticket attorneys at Patrick Mclain Law for a free consultation to get answers to your criminal defense and traffic ticket questions.
Traffic Ticket Defenses
Traffic tickets are fairly common, but that doesn’t mean you have to accept the citation. Seasoned Florida traffic ticket attorneys can challenge your ticket and work towards getting it dismissed.
A ticket could lead to you losing points on your driving record, having to pay more for insurance, being sent to driving school, or losing your license. Choosing the right path after your ticket could help alleviate some of your woes.
Traffic ticket lawyers assist with the following range of traffic offenses:
- Bench Warrants
- Careless Driving
- Driving with a Revoked License
- Expired/No Drivers License
- Failure to Yield Right of Way
- Improper Lane Change
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident
- A Minor Driving without License
- Move Over Law Violation
- No Passing Zone
- Driving with an Open Container
- Point System Violations
- Registration Violations
- Reckless driving
- Stop Sign Violations
- Driving with a Suspended License
- Traffic Light Violations
Careless Driving in Fort Myers
Florida statute 316.1925 outlines drivers’ legal responsibility to drive safely. Anything could be considered a careless driving citation because it’s an umbrella term for any behaviors considered careless while behind the wheel.
Careless driving is considered a moving violation. It also carries a penalty of 4-points on your driving record and a fine of up to $500 with court costs. Those points can affect your insurance premiums. If you have received a ticket for careless driving in Fort Myers, FL, contact Patrick Mclain Law and learn how we can help you avoid the long-lasting effects this kind of citation could leave on your record.
Fort Myers Reckless Driving
Operating your vehicle in a way that shows disregard or negligence for the safety of others can lead to a reckless driving citation. The circumstances of your case will determine if your reckless driving charge is considered a misdemeanor or felony.
Second-degree reckless driving charges carry a max $1,000 fine and a six-month jail sentence; first-degree charges are one year in jail or one year of probation and a maximum fine of $1,000. A felony reckless driving adjudication could result in a maximum of five years imprisonment or probation and a fine of up to $5,000.
Driving Without a License in Florida
Each Fort Myers driver has the duty to follow the law when they are behind the wheel. One of the basic rules in any state is that you must have a valid license to drive. Drivers with suspended licenses or those who have never had a license can face serious consequences for driving.
A first or second offense is a misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum fine of $500 and up to 60 days in jail. A third offense is a felony, subject to a maximum fine of $5,000 and a maximum prison term of five years. You should consult with a criminal defense attorney when facing Florida traffic citations.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident
If drivers are involved in a motor vehicle accident, they must stay with their vehicle at the scene of the accident until law enforcement arrives. This is especially true when the accident involves an injury, property damage, or death. Failing to do so can result in misdemeanor or felony charges of leaving the scene of an accident, also known as a hit and run.
If the driver leaves the scene of an accident that only involves property damage, misdemeanor charges can be filed. However, hit and run accidents that cause injuries can be charged as a third-degree felony. Fatal hit and run accidents can be charged as a first-degree felony and are punishable by a maximum 30-year prison sentence and a fine of up to $10,000.
Speak with a Fort Myers traffic attorney today if you’re facing traffic charges. These charges can have damaging effects on your driving record. Traffic school and increased insurance premiums can be expensive, which is why it is in your best interest to sit down with the skilled attorneys at Patrick Mclain Law for a free consultation.
Protect Your License With Patrick Mclain Law
If you have been charged with any traffic offense in Fort Myers, Florida, traffic ticket professionals recommend working with an experienced attorney to protect your driving record. Schedule a free, no-obligation consultation with Patrick Mclain Law today.