DUI License Suspension Florida

On behalf of Patrick McLain Law | May 2, 2024
Gavel with a beverage and car keys next to it

When you are accused of drinking and driving, it can have an immediate impact on your future and specifically your license. A DUI license suspension in Florida is one of the most common and urgent penalties you may face if you are charged with driving under the influence, and it can impact your ability to maintain your job, education, and other necessities that require transit. Fortunately, you have options. 

If you are facing a DUI license suspension, a DUI defense attorney can help you pursue a reduction or dismissal of your charges. With a lawyer on your side, you have the tools needed to overcome these penalties and potentially protect your future. Your lawyer is only a call or click away. 

Florida’s DUI License Suspension Laws Can Have a Long-Term Impact on Your Driving Privileges 

When facing a Florida DUI case, keep in mind that your DUI license suspension can vary depending on how many convictions are on your case. For example, you may lose your license for a minimum of 180 days for a first conviction. However, if you have a prior conviction within 5 years of these charges, you may lose your license for a minimum of 5 years. That can be a major hardship for you and your family. 

When your license is on the line, you may need to reach out to Patrick McLain Law for DUI license suspension cases. Our attorneys have the tools to help you understand the laws impacting your case and push back. When you need a strong defense, simply reach out for help.

Breathalyzer Results Can Have a Big Impact On Your License Suspension

The Florida DUI license suspension process typically begins with a failed Breathalyzer test. The Breathalyzer is the first step towards a potential conviction, as this is a scientific device meant to identify the blood alcohol concentration in your body. Likewise, if you refuse a Breathalyzer test, you may face an automatic license suspension for violating Florida’s implied consent laws.

Challenging a DUI License Suspension in Florida

Challenging DUI license suspension in Florida can be tough without legal support, but with the right approach, you may be able to keep your license. Challenging a license suspension typically involves seeking to get the charges dropped, which can remove the license suspension as well. However, if this is a first-time DUI, or if you have not had a DUI in many years, your attorney may seek a reduction in the charges or may negotiate a plea bargain that allows you to keep your license.

How Can I Reinstate a Suspended License After a DUI Conviction? 

Reinstating your suspended license depends on whether you have a suspension or a revocation. If your license is suspended, when the stated time is up, you can simply pay a fee and have your license reinstated. However, if your license is revoked, you may need to start from the beginning, meaning taking a driver’s test and completing the legal requirements to get your license as though you never had one to start with.

How Patrick McLain Law Can Help You Protect Your Driver’s License 

Avoiding a license suspension or reinstating a suspended license in Florida can be tricky, especially if you do not have prior legal experience. However, the team at Patrick McLain Law has tools and resources to gather evidence on your behalf and pursue a positive outcome for your case. Reach out for help with your case if you have been arrested and charged with a DUI and do not have the resources to fight back.

Know What to Expect from a Florida DUI License Suspension

One of the biggest misconceptions about a DUI license suspension is that a person is only charged if they have consumed large quantities of alcohol. However, if you are over the legal limit at all, or the alcohol in your system is impacting your driving abilities, the state may still have a case against you. To avoid this, reach out to a criminal defense attorney by calling or filling out our online contact form.


Category: DUI